Routing

Routing is available to customers that have Advanced Workflow enabled in their account.

To configure routing rules, go to Account Setup > Workflows > Routing (https://app.velaro.com/#/admin/workflows/routing). Automatic routing is turned on in the account by default. When auto-routing is turned on, chat are automatically routed to agents in that group based on settings. If auto routing is turned off, chats remain in the queue, and agents must manually accept chats from the queue.

Auto Route Settings

ControlDescription
Group menuRouting rules are specific to group. Select the group for which you want to configure routing settings. 
To create groups, see Manage Groups.
Auto route chat requests
  • If unchecked, queueing is enabled and automatic routing is disabled. This means that Agents manually accept chats when the come in, chats are not automatically assigned to agents.
  • If checked, the routing controls are displayed.
Trigger next auto-route on
  • Visitor Exit: Routing is triggered when the visitor exits. When the visitor exits the chat, if there is a chat waiting in the queue for the group, it will be routed to the agent.
  • Agent Close: Routing is triggered when the Agent closes the chat. When the agent closes the chat, if there is a chat waiting in the queue for the group, it will be routed to the agent. If the visitor has not exited, they will be informed that the agent has closed the chat.
Re-route if agents doesn't answer
  • Do not re-route. The chat will stay open of the agent does not respond and no action will occur.
  • Re-route in 1, 2, 3, 5 or 10 minutes if the agent doesn't answer.
Routing messageThe message that the system displays to the visitor when the agent has not answered and the chat is being re-routed.
Assign visitors to previous agent
  • If unchecked: chat is routed to next available agent according to rules.
  • If checked: if the agent that previously handled the chat is online and available, the chat is routed to that agent. Otherwise it is routed to the next available agent in the group.
Routing algorithm
  • Round robin: routes the chat in an equal fashion to each agent in the group. 
  • Least busy round robin: routes the chat to the the agent that is least busy based on max chat value.
Re-route on agent disconnect
  • If unchecked, if during a chat the agent is disconnected from the chat (by losing their internet connection or turning off their computer), the visitor will be informed that the agent connected and the chat will be ended.
  • If checked, two additional controls appear:
    • "Reroute after" is the timeframe that the agent is disconnected before the chat is rerouted. Settings can be 30 seconds or greater.
    • "Re-routing message" is the system message that is displayed to the visitor in the chat window that explains that the agent has become disconnected, and that the visitor will be re-routed to another agent in the same group.
When all agents are busy
  • Send to unavailable form: sends to the unavailable form if all agents are at max chats in the group.
  • Place in queue for x minutes: Keeps the visitor waiting for the next available agent based on the timeframe set if all agents are at max chats in the group. Values available are 30 seconds, 1-60 minutes, or unlimited.
SaveClick to save your your settings. When your settings have been saved, a green success message will display at top right over the profile menu. If an error occurs (such as a required field missing), a red error message will be displayed.

Queueing Settings

ControlDescription
Group menuRouting rules are specific to group. Select the group for which you want to configure routing settings. 
To create groups, see Manage Groups.
Auto route chat requests
  • If unchecked, queueing is enabled and automatic routing is disabled. This means that Agents manually accept chats when the come in, chats are not automatically assigned to agents.
  • If checked, the routing controls are displayed.
Higher tier agents see lower tier chats
  • If unchecked, if agents are assigned to tiers, they can only see the chats in their tier.
  • If checked, if agents are assigned to tiers, they can see the chats being handled by agents in lower tiers.
Queue timeoutIf a visitor is in the queue and no agent accepts the chat, the queue timeout is the amount of time a visitor must wait before being redirected to the "unavailable" rules configured for the group. Queue timeout settings range from 1 minute to 4 hours.
Re-route on agent disconnect
  • If unchecked, if during a chat the agent is disconnected from the chat (by losing their internet connection or turning off their computer), the visitor will be informed that the agent connected and the chat will be ended.
  • If checked, two additional controls appear:
    • "Reroute after" is the timeframe that the agent is disconnected before the chat is rerouted. Settings can be 30 seconds or greater.
    • "Re-routing message" is the system message that is displayed to the visitor in the chat window that explains that the agent has become disconnected, and that the visitor will be re-routed to another agent in the same group.
SaveClick to save your your settings. When your settings have been saved, a green success message will display at top right over the profile menu. If an error occurs (such as a required field missing), a red error message will be displayed.